redben wrote:Phalanx imposes a penalty to missile fire from the front. How do you determine what is the front? Is it the same as for charging an enemy in the flank/rear or is there a 90 degree arc from each side?
the front of the phalanx is defined in the same way for shooting as for charging. The shooters have a 45 degree arc of fire.
redben wrote:Can Heavy Throwing Spears be used if the unit is charged in the flank/rear? I assume not but can't find where it says that.
redben wrote:Fleeing units that hit obstacles such as other units. The rules say that go round them, how exactly does this work? Do they reach the unit then turn to run across them until they reach the side of the unit and then turn again to run past them?
No assume they head directly towards the gap from the start. remember they are a disorganised group. Normally we play that a unit just ends up behind a friendly unit in the way - having flowed around it.
redben wrote:A unit who breaks an enemy and pursues has to roll higher than the fleeing unit to catch them. If they roll the same they will be right on them but enemy units can't be closer than 1". Is the pursuing unit forced to halt 1" behind the fleeing unit (which would be 1" less than they rolled)?
Yes - you stop 1 inch behind
redben wrote:A unit charges and the enemy unit chooses or is forced to flee. They do not flee far enough and are destroyed, making the charge a successful one. A new enemy unit is revealed but the also flee and the charging unit does not have enough movement to catch them. How far do the chargers go? Is it the full extent of their movement?
You need to split this. the first flee - move the unit as far as they throw - then move the chargers in to contact - the fleeing unit is destroyed in the melee phase, so wait.
Now take off the fleeing unit. Now decide if an overrun is allowed for the chargers. follow the rules for an Overrun (I do not have the book to hand).
If the first fleeing unit got away - and this was a case of a re-directed charge - where the second unit also get away - then it becomes a normal failed charge - so just move forward a normal move towards the place of the second unit.
This often happens where a skirmish screen escapes and the charge is re-directed against the unit behind.