I've had a few games
greedo wrote:1) British 1st and 2nd rate ships get +2/+1 crew for having the "fleets admiral on board". Does that mean an ACTUAL admiral (as opposed to post captain/rear
admiral), or just the commander of the fleet?
I'd say it has to be a Rear Admiral/Admiral at the appropriate points cost
greedo wrote:2) You fight fires on the turn that they started correct? (i.e. roll on the fire damage table) since fire damage takes place AFTER shooting.
Yes, the end phase occurs after the gunnery phase, you don't roll for the fires effect in the gunnery phase.
greedo wrote:3) Squadrons: The leader has Cmd+1. As long as all ships are within 14" of this ship, do they ALL have Cmd+1? What if one of the non cmd ships wants to tack? Does it use its own cmd value, or the commanders? I was a little unclear. Also, if they go out of 14", they are at -2, so that's just -2 period, and they don't benefit from a +1 from their leader AT ALL?
It says all checks so if they are within 14cm they get the benefit of +1. So a Frigate is normally a 3, but is a 4 if within 14cm of the Squadron leader or a 1 if over 14cm.
greedo wrote:4) I'm afraid I'm very unclear on how collsions are handled. Is there place with diagrams, or colliding, fending off, grappling, entangled, various 3cm movements and turning?
It's a very poorly written rule. I've started playing that if a ship passes a Command Check then it avoids any damage from a collision.
As written it makes you wonder why they bothered with guns at all, when they could use the ships more effectively if like Ancient Galleys "RAMMING SPEED MR PELLOW"
greedo wrote:5) The test for broken masts in irons. Making sure I understand how this goes. I'm assuming there are two cases: 1) where I want to tack/boxhaul, 2) where the wind changed and I am facing into the wind by mistake. In the first case, I turn until I am *just* in irons, and then make a command
roll. If I pass, then I tack over using a steep turn. If I fail, then I roll on the taken aback table.
In the second case, where I'm in irons whether I meant to or not, I just roll on the taken aback table. Is this correct?
That is how I play it
greedo wrote:6) "Crippled" = no low hit points left, "Captured" = no crew left (and has not been recrewed by the end of the game). Is this correct?
We looked at this very one during our game last week. I reckon they only count as captured if the losers fleet is broken. If neither fleet is broken it's a drawn game and they count as crippled on teh Victory Points table.