recceboss wrote:It has been established that a warband cannot declare a charge if there is a friendly skirmish screen in front of it.
I think it has been established you can declare a charge. See linked thread above.
They do not block LoS but do block shooting(I assume because of the chance of hitting your own skirmishers as they run around in front).
recceboss wrote:This still doesn't answer what is meant by 'they will push through friendly skirmishers' in warband rule 1, hence my questions.
Generally I think the rule means they literally charge through them - assuming there is space in front then they move from one side of the skirmisher unit to the other side leaving the skirmishers unaffected.
If there are skirmisher models who would end up under the chargers then they are moved the minimum distance to the side or behind the chargers - but still maintaining unit coherency. They can then move and shoot as normal, when they get to move.
recceboss wrote:The question also arose agian last night. 2 members of a skirmish cavalry unit were clear of the right flank of foot skirmishers to their front, whilst the other 6 members of their unit were behind the foot skirmishers; the cavalry want to declare a charge:
So what happens here?
Do the 2 cavalry figures that have a clear view of the enemy unit charge that enemy unit by themselves with the rest of the unit being left behind the foot skirmishers?
Or does the whole charge fail because the cavalry unit has the foot skirmishers in front of it?
Or are the cavalry unit unable to declare a charge because the foot skirmishers are in their way, regardless of the fact that 2 of the cavalry figures have a clear LoS to the enemy unit?
This is a different case as it does not involve the warband rule.
However we have already agreed that a charge can be declared because a unit can see through or past skirmishers. So it is really how the charge occurs.
For a formed unit - unless the skirmishers have moved away before the charge phase then it is a failed charge - pure and simple, but if the skirmishers have moved away all is fine (only two case where this might happen - if the skirmishers are fleeing or if they too charge and are moved first).
If however the unit charging is skirmishers as in this example then generally I would suggest you just move those that can move directly around the skirmishers in to contact and bring the rest round in a free form move. I know the rules say directly and this is generally a straight line - but with an obstacle then I think it is fair to just go round.