Unfortunately for wording purposes these two issues are the topics of my question.
Just got done with my (growing) club's 3rd CoE game and this time was Sassanids v Byzantines. I'm happy to say that both armies were balanced overall, I'd say. I have some questions regarding elephants and another regarding interpenetration of troops during retreat. Hoping some people with more experience can help.
1. Rules clearly say that "enemy cavalry and chariots may only opt to flee in the face of an elephant charge." I understand that no horse wants to stick around, but doesn't that mean that the cav/chariot unit is effectively broken if they don't rally next turn or (worse) automatically destoryed if they're caught?
2. Is there a sentence that explicitly states cav cannot charge elephants. I'm sure that that's the intent of the rules but want something to point to.
3. Do elephants get the +1 bonus die that units get when attacking?
4. Skirmishers may interpenetrate all other troops but is the reverse true? We didn't think so -we had cav fleeing the elephants that ran into skirmishers and felt that a DL test was needed by the skirmishers. Was this correct?
Thanks for any help!